My Evolution to Crafting

It started with an old book page wreath.  I hadn’t done a craft in years.  I found the instructions on how to make one of these wreaths on the internet and it grabbed me. I had to make one.  Something happened to me during those few hours.  It was a new meditation!  I completely lost myself in the repetitive ripping, folding and gluing.  It was magic and I was hooked.  I had Image

found the escape I was looking for!   Now since I like variety, my searching continued.  I came upon a picture of some pillows made out of  button down shirts.  I loved them and thought they would be perfect for the beach house…. so I whipped up a couple of those.  My sewing skills needed some grease for sure, but they came out okay and looked great at the beach.

Image

Then one day, while searching for some new/old shirts to recycle into pillows at the local Salvation Army store, I came upon an entire rack of colorful plaid flannel shirts that had NEVER been worn.  Oh, the wheels started whirring and all I could picture was a lake house couch with all shapes and sizes of flannel shirt pillows strewn across it – all cushy and comfy.  So I did what any other visionary would do – I bought the whole lot of them and started stitching….

IMG_5711 IMG_5710

with a little help from my friend, here……..

IMG_5720

All but 2 of those shirts were turned into pillows.  (I couldn’t part with 2 of them – I wear them all the time!)  Aren’t those great colors on that shirt?!

IMG_5883

Here are all of the lake house pillows all stacked up and ready for sale!

IMG_5758

I will eventually open an internet store to sell my wares…… as soon as I figure out how to do it!  Until then……

Warm (flannel) regards, C

Leave a Reply

Maggie May's

DIY ideas for everyday

Rumbl3's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Scripting Happiness

Writings for the lovers of good life

Bryan Sargent

New York City Photographer, Musician, and Baseball Enthusiast

hannah brencher.

honest essays about growing up, faith + loving others well.

Mind In Vegas

a city, a woman, an idea

Cassady's East

Reinventing life after the nest is empty

